Chapter 7 is my favourite results chapter. It’s a mix of content analysis and interviews, like the preceding chapters, but we focus on three different areas on the welcome pages that some sites have, and I record a disastrous attempt to measure interactivity on the websites. Not disastrous because my research methods failed – disastrous because I have a whole table full of zeroes, where I found nothing. So none of the analyses I had planned were done. The third area is hyperlinks. Who links where? How are the links chosen? What do they say about a site? I could have done a whole other PhD just on this aspect itself.

You will also – because you probably picked this post up via Twitter – be interested in the ideas about representation of self, and how that is managed. At least, I hope you are, as I found this bit fascinating.

