This is the longest chapter of the thesis, and unless you are particularly interested in epistemological justifications for choice of research methods, I’d suggest it may be one of the dullest. I don’t think the bits where I decide I am going down the empiricist, show-me-the-evidence, route, are particularly difficult reading, just not awfully interesting to the casual observer.

So if I were you I’d skip straight to section 3.6 which will give you all the gory detail about the sampling, and data collection methods. Possibly pausing at Figure 3.1 along the way which lays out the timescale and various parts of the project. I am quite proud of this diagram, and it took a disproportionately long time to do.

Or you might want to wait for the next blog post, which has the first batch of exciting results.

