I have been fortunate so far in that I have been able to schedule some interesting interviews with various clergy. I’m hearing some great stories – and beginning to appreciate the similarities and differences amongst various organisations. So far I’ve been keeping more or less up to date by transcribing these on the train during my commute (except for today, when I didn’t bring headphones).

On the one hand I am enormously grateful for the help and time people have offered to tell me about their situation. On the other, I’ve been surprised by the number of emails which have not even resulted in a polite ‘no thanks.’ I have perhaps an incidental measure of the effectiveness of the chains of online communication within some local churches. Does no reply mean the email did not reach its intended target? Have I just added to an already groaning inbox? Or does my request really not warrant an acknowledgement…

